The directors of Ballinrobe Town Hall expect to announce plans for the redevelopment of the Valkenburg complex early in the New Year.

The Valkenburg, formerly the location of a hotel, restaurant, bar and night club on the town’s Main Street, will now be repurposed as a Town Hall.

“We now own a substantial piece of property in a strategic location in the town. It will function for the benefit of the town. Early in 2022 we expect to be in a position to determine what modifications we will carry out at the venue,” chairperson Michael Sweeney told last Wednesday night’s annual general meeting.

The attendance at the 2021 Ballinrobe Town Hall AGM. The meeting was held fully online as per HSE COVID-19 guidelines. Click to enlarge.

“We are delighted that financial support from central Government, Mayo County Council and South West Mayo Development Company, initially pledged for the Town Hall old site on the Neale Road, is still in place as we start to re-develop the Valkenburg.

“I thank all board directors for their work over the past year, and a number of people not on the board who also made a huge contribution during 2021.”

Secretary Siobhan O’Malley and Treasurer Sean O’Connell presented full details of the year’s activities and the board’s financial position.

Siobhan outlined that the first community event in the new Town Hall – the visit of Santa Claus to meet local young people – took place on Saturday, December 4, and proved an excellent location for such an auspicious occasion.

The meeting was held on Zoom to comply with HSE COVID-19 guidelines.

Votes of sympathy were passed to directors Liam Horan and Sean O’Connell on the deaths of Liam’s mother Ina and Sean’s father John during the past year.

Anyone interested in supporting this major project should contact Chairperson Michael Sweeney (087 2588 615) or Secretary Siobhan O’Malley (087 207 2307).

The following are the directors for 2022: Chairperson Michael Sweeney, Michael Burke, Secretary Siobhan O’Malley, Treasurer Sean O’Connell, PRO Liam Horan, Margot O’Shea, Des May and Sheena Duddy.

Click here to make your donation