A project management company will be appointed soon for the redevelopment of Ballinrobe Town Hall, following a recent tender process, last week’s AGM of the organisation was told. The meeting was held in the Café room of the Town Hall (formerly The Valkenburg).

Michael Sweeney, chairman, thanked Sabina Trench and Norita Clesham, South West Mayo Development Company (SWMDC), for their support over the past year as considerable behind-the-scenes progress was made. SWMDC are the lead partners in the project.

The redevelopment project will avail of €4.87m funding for the redevelopment of Ballinrobe Town Hall under the Rural Regeneration and Development Fund (RRDF).

Recent events held in the venue, including the Christmas market and Santa Experience, went off well and are a sign of the need for a community facility of this type, said Michael.

Secretary Siobhan O’Malley said that there is already considerable usage of the venue prior to the redevelopment. Siobhan said there is growing evidence of interest in using the facility when it is redeveloped.

She thanked Monica Horan and Tacu Family Resource Centre for their support. An Taoiseach Leo Varadkar visited the venue in August to learn about the plans for its development.

Michael congratulated Ballinrobe Racecourse on being voted Racecourse of the Year, and particularly complimented Sean O’Connell and Michael Burke, who are members of the Town Hall and Racecourse committees.

The meeting extended sympathy to the families of the late Tony Walkin, Billy O’Carroll and John Joe Murphy, all of whom had strong connections with the Town Hall.

The following are the directors and officers for the coming year: Chairperson, Michael Sweeney; Vice-do, Michael Burke; Secretary, Siobhan O’Malley; Treasurer, Sean O’Connell; PRO, Liam Horan. Directors: Des May, Margot O’Shea, Sheena Duddy.

Click here to make your donation