Ballinrobe Musical Society recently handed over a €1,400 cheque to the Campaign to Rebuild Ballinrobe Town Hall.

The cheque was made up of the proceeds of the raffle on one of the nights the society staged ‘9 to 5, The Musical’, earlier this year.

“We are delighted to support the major effort now underway to rebuild the town hall here in Ballinrobe,” said society chairperson Des Treacy.

“It will be a wonderful facility for the town and surrounding regions.”

Ballinrobe Town Hall chairperson Michael Sweeney, who is also an active member of the musical society, thanked the society for their “generous gesture”, and urged other local community groups and organisations to follow suit.

“We have had great support from a variety of groups, and some others have events and fund-raisers in the pipeline. We will need it all to realise our dream of rebuilding the town hall,” said Michael.

A target of €400,000 in business and private contributions has been set as Ballinrobe aims to restore the old Hall, which closed in 1996.

“We estimate that we will receive between €800,000 and €900,000 in local and central Government and agency funding, which will require Ballinrobe to come up with approximately €400,000 to fund the project. The overall cost has been independently costed at just short of €1.3m,” added Michael.

Anyone interested in supporting this major project should contact Chairperson Michael Sweeney (087 2588 615) or Secretary Siobhan O’Malley (087 207 2307).

Committee: Chairperson Michael Sweeney, Secretary Siobhan O’Malley, Treasurer Sean O’Connell, PRO Liam Horan, Michael Burke (Vice-chairperson), Rory O’Neill, Tony Walkin, Margot O’Shea, Mary Jackson, Marie O’Haire, Gwen Costello, Des May, Sheena Duddy, Clare O’Neill, Aidrienne Gleeson, Liz Kelleher, Cllr Damien Ryan, Cllr Patsy O’Brien.

Photo caption: Pictured at the presentation of a €1,400 cheque by Ballinrobe Musical Society to the Campaign to Rebuild Ballinrobe Town Hall are (l to r): Liz Kelleher, Ballinrobe Musical Society and Ballinrobe Town Hall; Liam Horan, PRO, Town Hall; Michael Sweeney, chairperson, Town Hall; Des Treacy, chairperson, Musical Society; Sean O’Connell, treasurer, Town Hall; Tony Walkin, Musical Society and Town Hall; Margot O’Shea, Town Hall; and Sheena Duddy, Town Hall.
Photo: Trish Forde.


Click here to make your donation