Ticket sales are reported as being brisk for ‘The Kube’, a fun game show based on the hugely popular ITV programme ‘The Cube’, which will take place in Ballinrobe on Saturday, May 20.

Thirty-six contestants from the south Mayo / north Galway region will take part in the event at The Pavilion, Ballinrobe Racecourse, at 8pm. Admission will be €20, with family tickets (2 adults and 2 children) at €50, and the total prize fund is €1000.

All proceeds from the fund-raiser will go to the campaign to rebuild Ballinrobe Town Hall. The event is run by a professional Dublin-based company whose lighting, set design and general presentation will ensure a real party atmosphere – the event will feature a bar and disco.

“Ticket sales are going extremely well and, at this stage, we would encourage people to buy their tickets beforehand from TACU and Martin Murphy’s, both on Main Street, Ballinrobe,” said chairperson of the organising committee, Pat McGovern.

There will be excellent raffle prizes on the night, including an overnight stay and evening meal at the Lodge at Ashford Castle, afternoon tea at Ashford Castle, and a €100 voucher for the Castlecourt Hotel, Westport.

The list of contestants has just been published and excitement is now mounting in south Mayo. Each participant will represent a local club or organisation. The list is as follows:

Western Lakes Cycling Club: Michael Conroy, John Conroy, Paula O’Neill, Michele Conroy, Padraig Marrey, Shane Gilligan.

Ballinrobe GAA Club: Donal McCormack; Tom Carney; Padraic Costello Snr.

Ballinrobe Tidy Towns: Peter Heaps; James Conway.  

Robeen Rascals Playschool: Damian Crowe.

Kilmaine Ladies GAA Club: Veronica Sheridan.

Ballinrobe Musical Society: Elaine Treacy; Seamus Lally; Richard Hennelly; John O’Shea; Louis Brennan, Tommie McGovern.

Ashford Castle: David Gardiner.

Ballinrobe Community School: Michael Coen; Willie Culkeen; Mike Ansbro; Lisa Biggins; Derek Milton.

Ballinrobe Town Traders: John Wilson; Ray McGreal; Lisa Costello; Emma Gill; Hilda Hughes.

Tesco: Ray Kelly.

Ballinrobe Rugby Club: Trevor Watson; Mathew Gill.

Ballinrobe Town AFC: Declan Commons.

AIB Bank: Aonghus McGauley. 

Bank of Ireland: Annette Canty.

Each contestant has sponsorship cards and a target of €300. The club or organisation that raises the most amount of money will receive a donation of €250.

“Everyone is familiar with the TV show The Cube, hosted by Phillip Schofield. It can be a really exciting programme and with so many local people taking part here, we are expecting a night of fun, entertainment and high drama,” said Pat.

The prize fund is broken down as follows: Overall winner – €750; Club or organisation that raises most amount of money – €250.

The major door-to-door fund-raising drive in Ballinrobe to rebuild the local Town Hall has passed the €200,000 mark – and now the committee are focusing on reaching the local contribution target of €400,000.

Participants in the Kube.

Click here to make your donation