Excitement mounts in Ballinrobe
as identity of ‘The Kube’ participants confirmed

‘The Kube’, a fun game show based on the hugely popular ITV programme ‘The Cube’, will take place in Ballinrobe next month – and the identity of the 36 local participants have just been released.

Contestants from the south Mayo / north Galway region will take part in the event at The Pavilion, Ballinrobe Racecourse, on Saturday, May 20, at 8pm. Admission will be €20, with family tickets (2 adults and 2 children) at €50, and the total prize fund is €1000.

All proceeds from the fund-raiser will go to the campaign to rebuild Ballinrobe Town Hall. The event is run by a professional Dublin-based company whose lighting, set design and general presentation will ensure a real party atmosphere – the event will feature a late bar and disco.

The list of contestants has just been published and excitement is now mounting in south Mayo. Each participant will represent a local club or organisation. The list is as follows:

Western Lakes Cycling Club: Michael Conroy, John Conroy, Paula O’Neill, Michele Conroy, Padraig Marrey, Shane Gilligan. See more HERE

Ballinrobe GAA Club: Donal McCormack; Tom Carney; Padraic Costello Snr. See more HERE

Ballinrobe Tidy Towns: Peter Heaps; James Conway. See more HERE

Robeen Rascals Playschool: Damian Crowe. See more HERE

Kilmaine Ladies GAA Club: Veronica Sheridan. See more HERE

Ballinrobe Musical Society: Elaine Treacy; Seamus Lally; Richard Hennelly; John O’Shea; Louis Brennan, Tommie McGovern. See more HERE

Ashford Castle: David Gardiner. See more HERE

Ballinrobe Community School: Michael Coen; Willie Culkeen; Mike Ansbro; Lisa Biggins; Derek Milton. See more HERE

Ballinrobe Town Traders: John Wilson; Ray McGreal; Lisa Costello; Emma Gill; Hilda Hughes. See more HERE

Tesco: Ray Kelly. See more HERE

Ballinrobe Rugby Club: Trevor Watson; Mathew Gill. See more HERE

Ballinrobe Town AFC; Declan Commons.See more HERE

AIB Bank: Aonghus Mc Gauley. See more HERE

Bank of Ireland: Annette Canty. See more HERE

Each contestant will have sponsorship cards and a target of €300. The club or organisation that raises the most amount of money will receive a donation of €250.

“Everyone is familiar with the TV show The Cube, hosted by Phillip Schofield. It can be a really exciting programme and with so many local people taking part here, we are expecting a night of fun, entertainment and high drama,” said Pat.

The prize fund is broken down as follows: Overall winner – €750; Club or organisation that raises most amount of money – €250.

Tickets for the show are now available for sale in TACU and Martin Murphy’s, both on Main Street, Ballinrobe.

The major door-to-door fund-raising drive in Ballinrobe to rebuild the local Town Hall has passed the €200,000 mark – and now the committee are focusing on reaching the local contribution target of €400,000.

Ballinrobe aims to restore the old Hall, which closed in 1996.

“We estimate that we will receive between €800,000 and €900,000 in local and central Government and agency funding, which will require Ballinrobe to come up with approximately €400,000 to fund the project. The overall cost has been independently costed at just short of €1.3m,” added Michael.

Participants in the Kube. Unavoidably absent when photograph was taken: Michelle Conroy, Shane Gilligan, Peter Heaps, Richard Hennelly, Louis Brennan, John Wilson, Emma Gill, Hilda Hughes, Ray Kelly, James Conway.


Click here to make your donation