Volunteers who carried out an extensive door-to-door collection on behalf of Ballinrobe Town Hall have been warmly thanked.

“A huge effort was put in by approximately 40 people and that meant we could cover the entire parish and ensure that everyone who wished to donate had the opportunity to do so,” said chairperson Michael Sweeney, addressing the annual general meeting of Ballinrobe Civic Arts and Amenity Company Ltd, the governing body of the hall.

“It would not have been possible to carry out the collection without the support of these community-minded volunteers”.

The meeting heard that the campaign to rebuild the hall is now in full swing. A total of €133,511.05 had been collected locally at that point, and, since the agm, it has surpassed €150,000.

“Our local target is €400,000, and 2017 will be a big year for us. We will be running a number of events to propel us towards the target of €400,000”.

It is hoped that the hall will receive between €800,000 and €900,000 in local and central Government and agency funding. The overall cost has been independently costed at just short of €1.3m.”

Anyone interested in supporting this major project should contact Chairperson Michael Sweeney (087 2588 615) or Secretary Siobhan O’Malley (087 207 2307).

The following is the full committee of Ballinrobe Town Hall:

Committee: Chairperson Michael Sweeney (returned), Michael Burke (Vice-chairperson, returned), Secretary Siobhan O’Malley (returned), Treasurer Sean O’Connell (returned), PRO Liam Horan (returned), Rory O’Neill, Tony Walkin, Margot O’Shea, Mary Jackson, Marie O’Haire, Gwen Costello, Des May, Sheena Duddy, Clare O’Neill, Aidrienne Gleeson, Liz Kelleher, Cllr Damien Ryan, Cllr Patsy O’Brien.


Click here to make your donation